FanPost

2nd Game Theory

Does the 2nd game theory exist? Some believe that the second game back from a roadtrip a team will suffer from fatigue and display lackluster performance. Here is a quick look at the Rangers' Runs/RA for the 2nd game back for the last 3 years.
 
2011   4-7                                 
Rk    Gm#            Date    Opp R RA
17     17  Tuesday Apr 19 LAA  L 4 15
34     34  Saturday May 7 NYY  W 7  5
49     49  Tuesday May 24 CHW  L 6  8
62     62   Tuesday Jun 7 DET  L 1  8
75     75  Tuesday Jun 21 HOU  W 5  4
84     84  Saturday Jul 2 FLA  L 5  9
101   101 Saturday Jul 23 TOR  W 5  4
114   114  Saturday Aug 6 CLE  L 5  7
130   130  Tuesday Aug 23 BOS  L 5 11
146   146 Saturday Sep 10 OAK  L 7  8
158   158 Saturday Sep 24 SEA  W 7  3
totals                           57   82                                 
runs/game                        5.2  7.5  
2011 season @ home               6.1  4.9
 
2010    8-3                                  
Rk    Gm#             Date    Opp  R RA
17     17  Saturday Apr 24 DET  L  4  8
30     30     Friday May 7 KCR  W  4  1
40     40   Tuesday May 18 LAA  W  8  7
55     55   Saturday Jun 5 TBR  W  6  1
71     71 Wednesday Jun 23 PIT  W 13  3
80     80   Saturday Jul 3 CHW  W  3  1
97     97    Friday Jul 23 LAA  W  1  0
113   113 Wednesday Aug 11 NYY  L  6  7
125   125   Tuesday Aug 24 MIN  W  4  3
142   142  Saturday Sep 11 NYY  W  7  6
157   157   Tuesday Sep 28 SEA  L  1  3
totals                            57  40                                 
runs/game                        5.2  3.6  
2010 season @ home               5.3  4.2
  
2009    7-5                                 
Rk    Gm#             Date    Opp  R RA
8       8   Tuesday Apr 14 BAL  L  5  7
21     21  Thursday Apr 30 OAK  L  2  4
33     33 Wednesday May 13 SEA  W  6  5
45     45   Tuesday May 26 NYY  W  7  3
58     58    Tuesday Jun 9 TOR  L  0  9
73     73  Saturday Jun 27 SDP  L  3  7
89     89  Saturday Jul 18 MIN  L  1  4
98     98   Tuesday Jul 28 DET  W  7  3
115   115  Saturday Aug 15 BOS  W  7  2
131   131    Tuesday Sep 1 TOR  W  5  2
141   141    Sunday Sep 13 SEA  W  7  2
154   154  Saturday Sep 26 TBR  W 15  3
totals                            50  51                                 
runs/game                        4.2  4.3  
2009 season @ home               5.3  4.5
I am not ready to confirm or call this theory busted based on these results. Runs/game was down almost 1 run/gm in two of the three years. Pitching had three different outcomes in three years. Certainly needs a deeper study.



X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Lone Star Ball

You must be a member of Lone Star Ball to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Lone Star Ball. You should read them.

Join Lone Star Ball

You must be a member of Lone Star Ball to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Lone Star Ball. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker