Sunday OT

United States

Shirt badge/Association crest
Nickname(s) The Stars and Stripes[1]
The Yanks[2]
Team USA[3]
Association U.S. Soccer
Confederation CONCACAF
Head coach Jurgen Klinsmann
Captain Clint Dempsey
Most caps Cobi Jones (164)
Top scorer Landon Donovan (57)
FIFA ranking 13 Increase +1
Highest FIFA ranking 4[4] (April 2006)
Lowest FIFA ranking 36 (July 2012)
Elo ranking 13
First colors Secondcolors
First international
Sweden 2–3 United States
(Stockholm, Sweden; August 20, 1916)[5][6]
Biggest win
United States 8–0 Barbados
(Carson, California, United States; June 15, 2008)
Biggest defeat
Norway 11–0 United States
(Oslo, Norway; August 6, 1948)
World Cup
Appearances 10 (First in 1930)
Best result Third Place Bronze medal icon.svg : 1930[7]
Appearances 13 (First in 1985)
Best result Champions Gold medal icon.svg : 1991, 2002, 2005,2007, 2013
Confederations Cup
Appearances 4 (First in 1992)
Best result Runners-up Silver medal icon.svg : 2009

The United States men's national soccer team, often referred to as the USMNT, represents the United States in internationalsoccer. It is controlled by the United States Soccer Federation and competes in CONCACAF (the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football). The team is ranked 13th in the world according to both the FIFA World Rankings and the World Football Elo Ratings. They have appeared in the last seven FIFA World Cups and hosted the 1994 edition.

The men's national team competes in the FIFA World Cup and the FIFA Confederations Cup, in addition to the CONCACAF Gold Cup and other competitions by invitation, such as, the CONMEBOL Copa America. They achieved a CONCACAF-best when they reached the semi-final at the 1930 World Cup, finishing 3rd. After qualifying for the 1934 World Cup, and withdrawing in 1938, the next World Cup participation came at the 1950 tournament, causing an upset by defeating England 1–0 in their second group match. After 1950, the U.S. didn't qualify for the World Cup again until 1990.

After the 1990 World Cup, the U.S. qualified automatically as hosts of the 1994 World Cup, eventually losing to Brazil in the round of sixteen. The team has qualified for every World Cup since, including the 2014 World Cup. The national team improved on an international level, reaching the quarter-finals of the 2002 FIFA World Cup, where they lost to Germany 1–0. In 2009 they reached the final of the FIFA Confederations Cup, eliminating top-ranked Spain 2–0 in the semi-finals before losing to Brazil 3–2 in the final.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Lone Star Ball

You must be a member of Lone Star Ball to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Lone Star Ball. You should read them.

Join Lone Star Ball

You must be a member of Lone Star Ball to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Lone Star Ball. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.