clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Some awards

The Silver Slugger Awards, awarded to the best offensive player at each position in each league, have been announced.

Mark Teixeira and Alfonso Soriano were the only Rangers winners. And Soriano probably shouldn't have won, given that Brian Roberts significantly out-hit him this year.

Mike Young probably should have won instead of Miguel Tejada, although that was close. The other omissions that jump out are Brian Giles and Jason Bay, who should have won instead of Andruw Jones and Carlos Lee, and Victor Martinez, who should have won instead of Jason Varitek.

In addition, the Internet Baseball Awards are out, with ARod and Pujols being named the A.L. and N.L. MVP, and Santana and Clemens winning the Cy Young.