clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Veterans Committee Elects No One

New, comments

The results of the Veteran's Committee Hall of Fame voting came out today, and no one got the requisite 75% of the vote necessary to be elected.

Ron Santo came the closest, with 69% of the vote, and Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, and Tony Oliva also got at least 50% of the vote. Former major league umpire Doug Harvey and nemesis of major league owners Marvin Miller each cracked the 50% barrier among non-players.

Santo deserves to be in the Hall, no question, but of the others on the ballot, I don't know if there's really that strong a case to be made. Ken Boyer, maybe, but that's about it.