clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Zack Greinke wins the A.L. Cy Young

Congratulations to Zack Greinke, the winner of the 2009 A.L. Cy Young Award.

He is clearly deserving of the award, but the biggest story here isn't that he won -- although with an unimpressive win total, there was a little bit of a question about that -- but that he blew away the field, picking up 25 of the 28 first place votes, and finishing second on the other three ballots.

King Felix finished second and Justin Verlander third, with only C.C. Sabathia and Roy Halladay picking up votes otehrwise.