clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Justin Verlander wins A.L. Cy Young Award, C.J. Wilson finishes 6th

Not unexpectedly, Justin Verlander has been announced as the winner of the 2011 American League Cy Young Award.  Verlander captured all 28 of the first place votes.

The Rangers' C.J. Wilson finished in sixth place...under the old balloting rules, where voters only picked their top three, Wilson wouldn't have even been mentioned, as he picked up one fourth place vote and seven fifth place votes.  

Jered Weaver finished second in the voting, James Shields was third, C.C. Sabathia was fourth, and Jose Valverde was fifth.  The idea that Valverde had as good a season as Wilson (or Dan Haren, who finished seventh) is pretty ludicrous, but voters love them some saves.

The others who appeared on at least one ballot were Mariano Rivera, Josh Beckett, Ricky Romero, and David Robertson.  Yes, David Robertson.  

Congrats to Verlander on winning the award, and congrats to C.J. for finishing sixth in the balloting this year.