clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Clayton Kershaw wins the NL Cy Young award

Getty Images

The BBWAA announced that Clayton Kershaw won the National League Cy Young Award this afternoon.  He took 27 of the 32 first place votes to win in a relative landslide.

Roy Halladay finished second in the voting because he all he did was put up the sort of year he does every year and the BBWAA writers are tired of giving him this award.

Cliff Lee finished third, Ian Kennedy finished fourth and Cole Hamels finished fifth, giving the Phillies three out of the top five places for this award in their rotation.

Congratulations to Clayton, how we wish he was ours.