clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wil Myers, Jose Fernandez win Rookie of the Year Awards; Martin Perez finishes 6th

Wil Myers and Jose Fernandez took home the A.L. and N.L. Rookie of the Year Awards, respectively

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Wil Myers has been named the American League Rookie of the Year for 2013, and Jose Fernandez has been named the National League Rookie of the Year.

Myers got 23 first place votes, 5 second place votes and a third place vote.  Jose Iglesias received 5 first place votes while finishing second.  Chris Archer, who finished third, and Dan Straily, who finished fourth, each received one first place vote apiece.

J.B. Shuck finished fifth, mystifyingly receiving a second place vote and a third place vote.  Martin Perez and Cody Allen finished tied for sixth, each receiving a pair of third place votes, while David Lough finished eighth with one third place vote.

I'm a bit mystified as to why Straily got so much more support than Perez, and also why anyone voted for J.B. Shuck, but there you go.

In the N.L. voting, Jose Fernandez received 26 first place votes and 4 second place votes, while runner-up Yasiel Puig received the remaining 4 first place votes and 25 second place votes.  One voter, out of San Diego, left Puig off his ballot altogether, going with Fernandez, Shelby Miller, and Jedd Gyorko.

Miller finished third, Hyun-jin Ryu finished fourth, Julio Teheran fifth, and Jedd Gyorko sixth.  Nolan Arenado received a single third place vote, as did Evan Gattis, apparently from a voter who stopped paying attention to baseball in mid-May.

More from Lone Star Ball: