clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Johnson, Martinez, Smoltz and Biggio elected to Hall of Fame

The BBWAA has elected four new members to the Baseball Hall of Fame

Greg M. Cooper-USA TODAY Sports

Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio have been elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

All four men are well qualified for the honor.  Johnson, Martinez and Smoltz were first-time candidates this year, and Biggio just barely missed being elected last year.

Mike Piazza appeared on roughly two-thirds of the ballots, but fell short of the 75% required for enshrinement.  Jeff Bagwell and Tim Raines were the two other candidates to receive at least 50% of the vote.