clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Texas Rangers minor league rosters announced

The rosters for the Rangers' four full season minor league affiliates have been announced

Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

The Texas Rangers minor league rosters have been announced, and if you are a Frisco Roughriders fan, there's some very good news for you...

The Rangers' AA affiliate looks to be stacked this year with premium prospects in the organization.  Four of the Rangers' consensus top five prospects will be in Frisco to start the year -- Joey Gallo, Jorge Alfaro, Nomar Mazara, and Jake Thompson.  Thompson will be joined in the Roughriders' rotation by Alec Asher, Jerad Eickhoff, and Andrew Faulkner, all of whom are well regarded and worth watching, and Nick Williams and Chris Garia will team up with Mazara to cover the Frisco outfield.  Cody Buckel, the one time Rangers minor league pitcher of the year who has spent the last two years working to make his way back from a case of Steve Blass Syndrome, will be in the Frisco bullpen.

AAA Round Rock will feature Luke Jackson, Chi Chi Gonzalez, Anthony Ranaudo and Nick Tepesch in its rotation, while the Ledbetter brothers, Cole Wiper, and Richelson Pena will be braving the Cal League for high-A High Desert.  2014 1st rounder Luis Ortiz will be at low-A Hickory, where he'll be joined on the pitching staff by Brett Martin, David Perez, and 2011 first rounder Kevin Matthews, among others.

Lewis Brinson, Ryan Cordell and Evan Van Hoosier are among the position players who will be starting out in High Desert, while Hickory's group includes Ronald Guzman, Jairo Beras, Travis Demeritte, Michael De Leon, Josh Morgan, and Luke Tendler.

All the assignments can be seen below: