clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jeff Banister finishes second in A.L. MOY voting

Terry Francona of the Indians wins A.L. Manager of the Year, with Jeff Banister finishing second

MLB: Seattle Mariners at Texas Rangers Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

Texas Rangers manager Jeff Banister finished second in the American League Manager of the Year balloting, per the announcement from the BBWAA tonight. Terry Francona of the Cleveland Indians was the winner.

Banister won the Manager of the Year Award last year, and would have been the first manager ever to win the award in back-to-back seasons if he had captured the honor in 2016. Banister still has finished in the top two in the balloting in each of his first two seasons managing in the major leagues, and has two A.L. West division titles under his belt, as well.

Buck Showalter of the Baltimore Orioles was the other finalist, finishing third.

The full balloting can be seen below: