clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alan Trammell, Jack Morris elected to Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame Modern Era Committee has elected Alan Trammell and Jack Morris to the Hall of Fame

Chicago White Sox v Detroit Tigers
Alan Trammell and Jack Morris in 2005
Photo by Tom Pidgeon/Getty Images

Alan Trammell and Jack Morris have been elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame by the Modern Era Committee, it has been announced this evening. Trammell and Morris were among 10 individuals who were up for consideration.

Trammell is a very deserving candidate, one of the best shortstops in MLB history who was on the ballot for fifteen years, but who peaked at 40.9% of the BBWAA vote in 2016. His candidacy suffered due to lacking one clearly standout stat or skill, but the flip side is that he was a terrific all around player who was a quality offensive and defensive player, with no real weaknesses to his game.

Morris, who was teammates with Trammell, is someone who I wouldn’t have picked for the Hall, but who has garnered a lot of support from the “old school” cadre due to his high win totals, as well as his reputation for being an “ace” and coming up big in key situations.

The others on the ballot being considered were Steve Garvey, Don Mattingly, Dale Murphy, Ted Simmons, Tommy John, Dave Parker, Luis Tiant, and Marvin Miller. Were I allowed to vote, I’d have picked Trammell and Miller, and would have thought long and hard about Simmons and Tiant.