clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

Mariano Rivera, Mike Mussina, Roy Halladay and Edgar Martinez were named to the Hall of Fame today

New York Yankees v Texas Rangers

Mariano Rivera, Edgar Martinez, Mike Mussina and Roy Halladay were elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame, it was announced today. Rivera, in his first year of eligibility, became the first player to be named unanimously by the BBWAA. Halladay was also on the ballot for the first time this year.

All four players are deserving of enshrinement in the Hall, and for Martinez and Mussina, it’s just a question of why they had to wait this long.

Barry Bonds, Curt Schilling and Roger Clemens were the next closest, all with around 60% of the vote. Larry Walker jumped up to almost 55%, which bodes well for his future chances.