clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bauer wins N.L. Cy Young; Darvish second

Trevor Bauer of the Cincinnati Reds beat out Yu Darvish for the National League Cy Young Award

Wild Card Round - Cincinnati Reds v Atlanta Braves - Game One Photo by Todd Kirkland/Getty Images

Cincinnati Reds pitcher Trevor Bauer was named the 2020 National League Cy Young Award winner, it was announced today. Bauer picked up 27 first place votes, and the other three voters gave him second place votes.

Bauer is hitting the free agent market after his best season, putting up a 1.73 ERA in 73 IP over 11 starts. Bauer struggled for the Reds after being acquired from the Cleveland Indians at the trade deadline in 2019 in a three team deal, but led the National League in ERA this year.

The top four spots were oddly clearcut. Yu Darvish finished second in the balloting, picking up three first place votes, 24 second place votes and three third place votes. Jacob deGrom finished third, getting 23 third place votes, while the other seven ballots had him either in second place (3) or fourth place (4). Dinelson Lamet, meanwhile, got 20 fourth place votes, along with five third place votes and a pair of fifth place votes.

Also appearing on ballots were Max Fried, Corbin Burnes, Aaron Nola, Devin Williams, Kyle Hendricks, Zac Gallen, Clayton Kershaw and Zack Wheeler.