clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

No BBWAA Hall of Fame inductees this year

New, comments

No one on the Baseball Hall of Fame ballot received the requisite 75% of the BBWAA vote this year

2014 Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Weekend Photo by Ron Vesely/MLB Photos via Getty Images

No player was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers Association of America this year, it has been announced.

Curt Schilling was the closest player to getting in — he fell 16 votes short, coming in at 71%. Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens were the next closest, with each getting 61%. All three players, who are clearly well qualified for enshrinement based on their on the field performance but who have failed to garner support due to being a gigantic asshole (in Schilling’s case) and PEDs (in Bonds and Clemens cases), are entering their last year of eligibility on the BBWAA ballots.

Alex Rodriguez will be joining them on the ballot next year, which should be entertaining.

Scott Rolen received 53% of the vote, and is a deserving Hall of Famer — hopefully he continues to gain support and gets enshrined soon. Omar Vizquel, Billy Wagner, Gary Sheffield and Sammy Sosa were all in the 40s. Andruw Jones and Jeff Kent were in the 30s.